Fuji 50-140 2.8 R LM OIS WR review

image

Yes this is my review and impressions of the Fuji 50-140mm 2.8 R LM OIS WR lens.  Whew, that’s a long name for a lens, but it earns every letter and number.

I posted my first impressions and honest criticism of the X-Pro2 and holy crap did it rub the Fuji “fanboys” the wrong way!  You can relax “fanboys” this is going to be a positive review.  I have shot this lens on MY new “bug plagued” X-Pro2 but my main rig is the XT-1 which is use for most everything wedding related.  When I shot Canon, I loved their 70-200 2.8 L IS II lens and have stated without hesitation that this lens may be one of the best modern AF zoom lenses ever produced.  Even though I stand by that claim the Fuji 50-140 is at worse, equal!

SHARPNESS: Sharpness can be over-rated at times but make no mistake this lens is sharp.  When you are using this lens with OIS on the results are, well, perfect!  The contrast is what is should be and in line with all of the other Fuji lenses.  This lens can be shot at f2.8 without any noticeable image quality loss.  I’m not s “pixel peeper” and never will be but even the “peepers” would be happy with the wide open performance of this lens.  I mean after all what’s the sense in owning fast glass if you can’t shoot wide open?

BUILD QUALITY: As with the majority of the lenses produced by Fuji for their X series cameras the build quality is excellent.  It’s not a light lens, but then again I did not expect it to be light.  It has a professional quality about it that makes me feel confident that it is a true pro lens and can stand up to heavy use.  The “WR, aka, wearher sealing is reassuring, but for me I don’t shoot in the rain but it’s nice to know it’s their in case I get caught off guard.  The lens hood is plastic of course but a solid plastic.  The tripod collar is a very nice touch and for me works as a great handhold while shooting.  I took the dollar off and shot a bit and immediately put it back on.  With the XT-1 grip attached the balance is there.  Without the grip or on my X-Pro2 or X-E2 it’s a bit “front” heavy, but nothing horrible nor unexpected.  All in all it’s an incredibly well built lens that I instills confidence.

AUTO FOCUS: I’m not sure how much of the auto focus is lens driven or camera driven but regardless and nor do I care but on my XT-1 the autofocus is more than adequate.  As I stated in my first impressions of MY X-Pro2 it was noticeable slower BUT since I did 2 factory re-sets on the camera and updated the lens firmware it is now works as good on the X-Pro2 as it does on the XT-1. Now that I said something positive about the X-Pro2 maybe I won’t be called an idiot😉  The OIS works like a champ!  I have zero issue shooting at 140mm at a shutter speed of 1/60.  Can you tell I’m very impressed with this lens?

Is there anything negative I can say about this lens?  Honestly, no.  It’s a very well made lens that optically is as good or better than anything on the market.  One of the big reasons I moved to Fuji was because of their low light capability and their lens quality and this lens has exceeded my expectations.  Heck, I can’t even complain about price because at $1,399.99 you get what you pay for, maybe more.  Plus, when you compare this to a new Canon 70-200 2.8 L IS II that’s over 2K this is a bargain!  If your having an internal debate on if you should buy this lens or not let me help with your decision…buy the lens!

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

